My (basic, fun, decent sounding) Karaoke Setup

Every time I go looking for a decent Karaoke setup that falls somewhere between ‘crappy random system in a box’ and ‘professional wedding DJ’ I come up with nothing, so as a bit of a time-based challenge I decided to get a setup together that would work for us this week when family and friends would be descending on our place to hang and eat.

IMG_2982.GIF

The guidelines I set for myself:

So, here’s my setup, with the caveat that I know it is probably not the be all end all. But it is a place to start for people in a similar situation. Enjoy! Feel free to ask me questions on Twitter about it.

Screen Shot 2019-11-27 at 10.58.08 PM.png

The heart

A word of caution: I would NOT rely on a setup that uses AirPlay. It has an unavoidable 2 second lag which will screw up audio and video sync. The exception to the rule here is if your TV is also your sound system or if your TV is connected to your sound system directly. This would allow the AirPlay audio and video to stay in sync.

IMG_4311.JPG

Microphones

Speakers

IMG_1227.JPG

Mixers

Accessories

IMG_4996.JPG

The basic setup is:

That’s it. Everything tucks away in a cabinet as the web interface (QR accessed) can remote control everything during a session. So there’s little to no fussiness while you’re all just wanting to have fun.

 
16
Kudos
 
16
Kudos

Now read this

The Daily

It sucks that The Daily is going away. If you’re rubbing your hands with glee over its closure, then you’re dead inside. Maybe the parent company, an intensely old-world corporation in many ways, deserved to have its butt handed to it.... Continue →