My WWDC Liveblog Kit

I got some requests to share the contents of my liveblog kit, the image of which is below.

c0c21972b28d11e18cf91231380fd29b_7.jpeg

  1. 11" MacBook Air i7
  2. iPad 16GB Verizon
  3. Verizon 4G MiFi
  4. iPad SD/USB Dongles
  5. 8GB USB Drive
  6. SD>CF Adapter, in case a friend needs one
  7. Headphones
  8. Purell
  9. Field Notes
  10. Pilot Varsity disposable fountain pen
  11. Memory card wallet (~50GB of SD cards and 10GB of USB drives)
  12. iPhone 3GS backup phone with T-Mobile SIM
  13. Mophie JuicePack Plus battery pack for iPhone 4
  14. iPhone Charger and 2 Dock Connector cables
  15. Canon EOS 60D + 50mm + 28-135mm + 70-200mm
  16. Mophie Powerstation Pro battery pack
  17. MacBook power adapter with Twelve South PlugBug (+1 USB Port)
  18. Various medications like breath mints, Advil, Immodium, antacids etc.
  19. Tom Bihn SuperEgo bag with Absolute shoulder strap
  20. Olloclip lens set for iPhone
  21. SDHC card reader

After the liveblog I’ll winnow down the kit to my MacBook Air with power adapter, iPad, Field Notes, Olloclip and the Powerstation Pro. The Juicepack stays on my phone pretty much throughout the week unless it’s out of juice. The Powerstation is an impressive device so far that charges an iPhone up several times and can juice up an iPad at ‘iPhone charger’ speed and hold its own while it’s in use. I also bring along a Tom Bihn Ristretto to swap to, as its a much slimmer and lighter bag.

I’ll probably install iOS 6 onto my main phone because I’m an idiot, but that’s why I’ve cloned my setup on the iPhone 3GS. I’ve installed the iOS beta on my daily driver every year and I’ve been able to get by without too many problems. I like to just jump in head first…but not without a safety net.

The MacBook has a Moshi iGlaze protector on it that I’m testing out. So far it does make me more comfortable when tossing it into a bag quickly with other loose items. In the SuperEgo, it fits into a neoprene sleeve that comes with the bag. All of the pouches I use are also made by Tom Bihn. I can’t say enough about how good their products are generally made. Look for a writeup of the SuperEgo on The Next Web soon.

 
43
Kudos
 
43
Kudos

Now read this

Why I’m Happy About The iPhone 5’s Lightning Connector

Unlike a lot of pundits, I have no problem with Apple’s switch to the lighting connector, and unfazed that it didn’t go with Micro USB or another standard. The smaller, dual-orientation plug is fantastic in use and the proprietary... Continue →